NEWS RELEASES

> Declaration - 2012 Symposium (PDF)

> Declaration - 24h de science

> Press Release - 2012 Symposium

> TARA stopover in Quebec City, from November 10th to 15th, 2013


Press Release - 2012 Symposium

PRESS RELEASE


For Immediate Release
 

Suggested title: Quebec-Ocean takes stock of oceans’ health

On the occasion of the 10th anniversary of Québec-Océan, researchers will examine the major stresses affecting oceans. From 7 to 9 November 2012 in Montreal,  the Symposium "Reality check on oceans’ health" will allow the scientific community to share its latest research results, with 30 talks and 50 posters, with all those interested in the future of the oceans. Several leading scientists from Quebec, Canada, and other countries will be present. The roundtable "Science, Society and Ocean" will bring together scientists, the public, policy makers, stakeholders, and the media to discuss the conciliation operation - protection of the marine environment. The full program is available on the event’s website :
http://www.quebec-ocean.ulaval.ca/en/colloque2012.php.

In 2012 alone, the seas bordering Quebec have broken several unenviable records: the historic melting of Arctic sea ice, some episodes of toxic algal blooms in the St. Lawrence River, the largest number of belugas found dead on our shores, etc. Anthropogenic pressure on marine resources is growing and seems to upset our marine ecosystems. Simultaneously, the acquisition of scientific knowledge in this area is threatened, both in research positions and the level of subsidies. Can we effectively regulate the exploitation of our marine resources without the necessary scientific knowledge?

The general public in and around Montreal is invited to attend the free oceanic event on Wednesday, November 8 at the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. At 7:30 pm, comedian Boucar Diouf will present an oceanographic-humorous sketch. His show will be followed by a public lecture by Dr. Louis Fortier entitled "The Arctic Ocean: the big thaw." Doors open at 7 pm. Participants can then meet Mylène Paquette, a Montrealer who has a passion for marine ecosystems, and is preparing to meet the challenge of crossing the Atlantic Ocean rowing alone. Places are limited, so first come, first served.

This symposium is made possible by funding from the following organizations: FRQ-NT, ArcticNet, ROMOR, AADI, SBE, UQAR / ISMER, Université Laval, UQAC, GENIVAR, Desgagnés, Technicap, and AML Cruises.

-30-

COMMUNIQUÉS

> Communiqué - 24h de science

> Communiqué - Colloque 2012

> Déclaration - Colloque 2012 (PDF)

> Escale du TARA à Québec, du 10 au 15 novembre 2013


Communiqué - Colloque 2012

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE


Pour diffusion immédiate
 

Titre suggéré : Québec-Océan fait le bilan de la santé des océans

À l’occasion des 10 ans de Québec-Océan, les chercheurs se pencheront sur les stress majeurs qui affectent les océans. Du 7 au 9 novembre 2012 à Montréal, le Colloque « L’heure juste sur la santé des océans » permettra à la communauté scientifique de partager ses plus récents résultats de recherche, à l’aide de 30 conférences et plus de 50 affiches, avec tous ceux qui s’intéressent à l’avenir des océans. Plusieurs sommités scientifiques du Québec, du Canada et de divers pays seront présentes. La table ronde « Science, Océan et Société » réunira scientifiques, grand public, décideurs, usagers des océans et médias pour discuter de la conciliation exploitation - protection de l’environnement marin. Le programme complet est disponible sur le site Internet de l’événement :
http://www.quebec-ocean.ulaval.ca/colloque2012.php.

En 2012 seulement, les mers bordant le Québec ont battu plusieurs records peu enviables : la fonte historique de la banquise arctique, des  épisodes de prolifération d’algues toxiques dans le Saint-Laurent, le plus grand nombre de bélugas retrouvés morts sur nos berges, etc. La pression anthropique sur les ressources marines est grandissante et semble bouleverser nos écosystèmes marins. Simultanément, l’acquisition des connaissances scientifiques dans ce domaine est menacée tant au niveau des postes de chercheurs qu’au niveau des subventions. Comment encadrer efficacement l’exploitation de nos ressources marines sans avoir les connaissances scientifiques nécessaires ?

Le grand public de Montréal et des environs est invité à participer gratuitement à la soirée océanique du mercredi 8 novembre à l’hôtel Omni Mont-Royal. Dès 19 h 30, l’humoriste Boucar Diouf fera son clin d’œil océanographico-humoristique. Son numéro sera suivi d’une conférence du Dr Louis Fortier intitulée « L’océan Arctique : le grand dégel ». Les portes ouvriront dès 19 h. Les participants pourront alors rencontrer aussi Mylène Paquette, une Montréalaise passionnée des écosystèmes marins, qui se prépare à relever le défi de traverser l’océan Atlantique à la rame en solitaire. Les places sont limitées, donc premiers arrivés, premiers servis.

La réalisation de ce colloque est possible grâce au financement des organismes suivants : FRQ-NT, ArcticNet, ROMOR, AADI, SBE, UQAR/ISMER, Université Laval, UQAC, GENIVAR, Desgagnés, Technicap et Croisières AML.

-30-