RATIONALE

Oceans largely regulate climate, the production of the oxygen that we breathe and food resources. Yet the global change rampant today and rapidly developing affects oceans’ health and functioning, which already poses many planetary and regional socio-economic challenges. Québec-Océan meets these issues by generating not only scientific knowledge on the state and functioning of marine environments, but also by training the next generation of scientists and by transmitting its results to decision-makers or the general public. Québec-Océan’s scientific program is aimed at many marine components threatened by human activity: sea ice cover, water level and coastal geomorphology, mineral resources, carbon and gas fluxes, water acidification and contaminants, marine biodiversity and productivity. The approach is fundamental or applied and is based on the IPCC’s 5th Assessment Report, on the 40 Priority Research Questions for Ocean Sciences in Canada, and the new PNRI of the Québec government. Québec-Océan’s research covers the global ocean while prioritizing the Arctic and the maritime St. Lawrence, at the heart of Québec’s identity.

By grouping together Québec oceanographers, Québec-Océan creates a critical mass, capable of contributing significantly to international research and attracting top researchers. Québec-Océan works in synergy with its member institutions, ArcticNet, Takuvik, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada, plus many Canada Research Chairs, for the constant improvement of research and training activities. By bringing together the diversified expertise of high-calibre researchers in various disciplines such as marine physics, geology, chemistry and biology, Québec-Océan promotes the implementation of major national and international projects and facilitates their leadership. Collaborations with the USA, Germany, France, Argentina, Japan, Norway, China, etc. make Québec exert its influence worldwide.

Québec-Océan members can count on a wide range of services, administrative, financial, IT and technical, and easier access to major infrastructures (ships and labs).
Finally, the group highly supports the transfer of knowledge generated by QO that improves the fundamental understanding of the marine environment while providing factual evidence and tools to many users, such as federal departments (e.g., DFO, EC) and provincial departments (e.g., MDDELCC, MTQ), industry (e.g., Esso and BP) and regional organizations (e.g., ZIP committees).

PERTINENCE

Les océans régulent en grande partie le climat, la production de l’oxygène que nous respirons et les ressources alimentaires. Pourtant, le changement global qui sévit aujourd’hui et s’accentue rapidement affecte la santé et le fonctionnement des océans, ce qui pose déjà de nombreux défis socio-économiques planétaires et régionaux. Québec-Océan répond à ces enjeux en produisant non seulement des résultats scientifiques sur l’état et le fonctionnement des milieux marins, mais aussi en formant la relève et en transmettant ses résultats aux décideurs ou au grand public. Le programme scientifique de Québec-Océan vise plusieurs composantes marines menacées par les activités humaines : la couverture de glace, le niveau de l’eau et la géomorphologie côtière, les ressources minérales, les flux de carbone et de gaz, l'acidification et les contaminants de l'eau, la biodiversité et productivité marines. L'approche est fondamentale ou appliquée et s’appuie sur le 5ème rapport du GIEC, les 40 questions prioritaires pour la recherche canadienne en science de la mer, et la nouvelle PNRI du gouvernement du Québec. Les recherches de Québec-Océan couvrent l’océan global en priorisant l’Arctique et le Saint-Laurent maritime, au coeur de l’identité québécoise.

En regroupant les océanographes québécois, Québec-Océan crée une masse critique capable de contribuer significativement à la recherche internationale et d’attirer des chercheurs de haut niveau. Québec-Océan travaille en synergie avec ses institutions membres, ArcticNet, Takuvik et Pêches et Océans Canada, auxquels s’ajoutent plusieurs chaires de recherche du Canada, pour l’amélioration constante des activités de recherche et la formation. En réunissant l’expertise diversifiée de chercheurs de haut calibre dans différentes disciplines comme la physique, la géologie, la chimie et la biologie marines, Québec-Océan favorise la mise en œuvre de grands projets nationaux et internationaux et facilite leur leadership. Des collaborations avec les É-U., l’Allemagne, la France, l’Argentine, le Japon, la Norvège, la Chine, etc. font rayonner le Québec dans le monde.

Les membres de Québec-Océan peuvent compter sur un large éventail de services, administratifs, financiers, informatiques et techniques et l’accès facilité à des infrastructures majeures (navires et laboratoires).
Enfin, le regroupement accorde une grande importance au transfert du savoir. Les connaissances générées par QO améliorent la compréhension fondamentale du milieu marin tout en fournissant des bases factuelles et des outils à de nombreux utilisateurs, tels les ministères fédéraux (ex : MPO, EC) et provinciaux (ex : MDDELCC, MTQ), l’industrie (ex : ESSO et BP) et les organismes régionaux (ex : comités ZIP).