SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM – THEME 3

NEW FRONTIERS IN OCEANOGRAPHY

The oceans dominate and define our planet, but remain largely unexplored. The research carried out in areas 1 and 2 will have increased pertinence and impact if observation technologies in the marine environment are further developed; if knowledge of the processes that regulate water and ice circulation is broadened; and if the ecology of marine organisms and the flows of matter and energy in the ocean and the interfaces surrounding the marine environment are better understood. In this regard, Québec-Océan’s teams are focusing on 5 sub-themes.


3.1. Circulation, eddies and turbulence
The movement of water masses on various scales can be induced, modified or constrained by a variety of factors, which include tides, wind, terrestrial rotation, ice, differences in temperature and salinity, inflows of fresh water in coastal environments or from seasonal ice cover, sediment load and aquatic vegetation. These factors make circulation complex, unstable and thus very variable and still difficult to forecast. This high variability, which extends from the scales in millimetres that characterize turbulence to scales in thousands of kilometers for the largest oceanic eddies, must be better understood if we are to improve forecasts of currents, ice movements, climate and interactions between the physical, chemical and biological processes involved. By affecting the horizontal and vertical dispersion of heat, salt, essential nutrients, gases and contaminants, eddies and turbulence have an influence on deepwater ventilation (O2 and CO2) and on the biological productivity of the marine environment.


The team is working to understand the fundamental mechanics of the oceans by using measurements made at sea, laboratory experiments, digital models and new theories. Among the subjects under study are waves, eddies, mesoscale and submesoscale fronts, sea ice, turbulence, internal waves and convection in coastal and ocean environments.
  ©

3.2. Ecology and the life cycle of marine organisms
To understand the impact of human activities and global change on the availability of exploitable resources and biodiversity as well as the functioning and health of the marine ecosystem, it is important to better understand the behaviour of various key species, how they use the environment and how they respond to environmental fluctuations and changes. While some species have relatively fixed life cycles and behaviours that make them particularly vulnerable to change, others have great phenotypic plasticity or rapid evolutionary adaptation.


The team is studying and modeling the life cycles, physiology, diet, reproductive success, dynamics and genetics of populations, as well as the evolutionary ecology of several marine species, including macro-algae, invertebrates, fish and mammals, that have key roles in marine communities and food webs.
  ©

3.3. Essential element cycles related to biodiversity
A biogeochemical cycle is the pathway followed by an element in moving through the environment and includes the organisms that consume or recirculate that element. Since the global inventory of elements is fixed, an understanding of the cycles of the major elements that make up living matter and greenhouse gases or that limit the ocean’s biological productivity (e.g., nitrogen and iron) is indispensible. New discoveries regularly modify our understanding of these cycles and the importance of biodiversity for their functioning.


The team is studying and modeling the details of macro-element fluxes (e.g., carbon, nitrogen, sulfur, phosphorus, silicon) and micro-element fluxes (trace metals, e.g., iron, copper) in pelagic and benthic environments as they relate to the specific richness and functional composition of communities.
  ©

3.4. Matter fluxes at the interfaces of the marine environment
The vertical and horizontal processes that regulate the exchanges and transformations of matter at the boundaries that delimit the marine environment (e.g., earth/sea, water/sediment, water/ice and sea/atmosphere) are still little understood or quantified. In the first metres of the ocean’s surface, the photochemical processes related to solar radiation transform complex organic molecules into reactive and often volatile inorganic compounds (e.g., CO, CO2, DMS, N2O, NH3). The presence of thin microlayers with physicochemical properties and distinct microbial flora has an influence on these gases and their diffusion through the sea/atmosphere interface. The exchanges of material between water and sea ice (when present) are essential to maintaining communities that live in brine channels. When they are released in the spring, the communities and their metabolic products influence in turn the water column, while meltwater promotes the establishment of a summer microlayer. In coastal environments, waterways and shorelines are the source of several substances (nutrients, particulate matter and dissolved matter) that affect marine biological productivity and biodiversity, as well as the accumulation and dynamics of sediment on the seabed. By exchanging gases and nutrients with seawater, sediment acts on the chemical composition of the water and the atmosphere.


To better understand the functioning of interfaces and their ecological impacts, the team is studying the chemical and biological composition of the lower atmosphere, marine microlayers, brine channels and marine sediment.
  © Virginie Galindo

3.5. State-of-the-art technologies for observing the marine environment
Most of the ocean is hidden from us. Although most oceanographic research must be carried out from ships or coastal stations, the implementation of new methods make it possible to broaden the scope of our observations and increase the required spatial and temporal resolution. These methods include remote sensing (satellites, acoustic sensing and high-frequency radar) and the deployment of autonomous devices equipped with sensors that collect data on the physical, chemical and biological structure of the ocean.


The team is developing new algorithms to better use remote sensing data as well as acquiring and adapting profiling buoys, gliders, autonomous submersibles and aerial unmanned vehicles to increase observation capabilities and ecological monitoring.
  © Doug Barber

PROGRAMME SCIENTIFIQUE – AXE 3

NOUVELLES FRONTIÈRES EN OCÉANOGRAPHIE

Les océans dominent et définissent notre planète, mais demeurent largement inexplorés. Les recherches menées au sein des axes 1 et 2 gagneront en pertinence et en impact si les technologies d’observation du milieu marin se développent, si la connaissance des processus qui régissent la circulation de l’eau et de la glace s’approfondit et si l’écologie des organismes marins et les flux de matière et d’énergie dans l’océan et aux interfaces qui ceignent le milieu marin sont mieux compris. Les équipes de Québec-Océan travaillent en ce sens sur 5 thématiques.


3.1. Circulation, tourbillons et turbulence
Le mouvement des masses d’eau à différentes échelles peut être induit, modifié ou contraint par un ensemble de facteurs, incluant les marées, le vent, la rotation terrestre, la glace, les différences de température et de salinité, les apports d’eau douce en milieux côtiers ou à couvert de glace saisonnier, la charge sédimentaire et la végétation aquatique. Ces facteurs rendent la circulation complexe, instable et donc très variable et encore difficilement prévisible. Cette grande variabilité, qui va de l’échelle millimétrique qui caractérise la turbulence jusqu’aux milliers de kilomètres couverts par les plus grands tourbillons océaniques, doit être mieux comprise afin d’améliorer la prévision des courants, du déplacement des glaces, du climat et des interactions entre les processus physiques, chimiques et biologiques. En affectant la dispersion horizontale et verticale de la chaleur, du sel, des nutriments essentiels, des gaz et des contaminants, les tourbillons et la turbulence affectent la ventilation des eaux profondes (O2 et CO2) et la productivité biologique du milieu marin.


L’équipe tente de comprendre la mécanique fondamentale des océans à l’aide de mesures en mer, d’expériences de laboratoire, de modélisations numériques et de nouvelles théories. Parmi les sujets étudiés, on compte les vagues, les tourbillons et les fronts à méso- et subméso-échelles, la glace de mer, la turbulence, les ondes internes et la convection dans les milieux côtiers et océaniques.
  ©

3.2. Écologie et cycle vital des organismes marins
Pour comprendre l’impact des activités humaines et du changement global sur la disponibilité des ressources exploitables, la biodiversité ainsi que le fonctionnement et la santé de l’écosystème marin, il importe de mieux connaitre le comportement de différentes espèces clés, comment elles utilisent le milieu et répondent aux fluctuations et aux changements de l’environnement. Alors que certaines espèces ont un cycle vital et un comportement relativement fixes qui les rendent particulièrement vulnérables au changement, d’autres sont dotées d’une grande plasticité phénotypique ou d’adaptation évolutive rapide.


L’équipe étudie et modélise les cycles vitaux, la physiologie, l’alimentation, le succès reproducteur, la dynamique et la génétique des populations ainsi que l’écologie évolutive des espèces de macro-algues, invertébrés, de poissons et de mammifères marins qui occupent des rôles clés au sein des communautés et réseaux alimentaires marins.
  ©

3.3.  Cycles des éléments essentiels en lien avec la biodiversité
Un cycle biogéochimique est l’ensemble du parcours que subit un élément en transitant entre l’environnement et les organismes qui le consomment ou le recirculent. Puisque leur inventaire global est fixe, une compréhension du cycle des éléments majeurs qui composent la matière vivante et les gaz à effet climatique ou limitent la productivité biologique de l’océan (ex : azote, fer) s’avère indispensable. De nouvelles découvertes modifient régulièrement la compréhension de ces cycles et de l’importance de la biodiversité pour leur fonctionnement.


L’équipe étudie et modélise le détail des flux macro-élémentaires (ex : carbone, azote, souffre, phosphore, silicium) et micro-élémentaires (métaux traces, ex : fer, cuivre) en milieux pélagiques et benthiques en lien avec la richesse spécifique et la composition fonctionnelle des communautés.
  ©

3.4. Flux de matière aux interfaces du milieu marin
Les processus verticaux et horizontaux qui régissent les échanges et les transformations de matière aux frontières qui délimitent le milieu marin (ex : terre/mer, eau/sédiment, eau/glace, mer/atmosphère) sont encore peu compris et quantifiés. Dans les premiers mètres de la surface océanique, les processus photochimiques liés au rayonnement solaire transforment les molécules organiques complexes en composés inorganiques réactifs et souvent volatils (ex : CO, CO2, DMS, N2O, NH3). La présence de microcouches minces possédant des propriétés physicochimiques et une flore microbienne distinctes influe sur ces gaz et leur diffusion à travers l’interface mer/atmosphère. Les échanges de matière entre l’eau et la glace de mer, lorsque présente, sont essentiels au maintien des communautés qui habitent les canaux de saumure. Lorsqu’elles sont larguées au printemps, ces communautés et leurs produits métaboliques influencent en retour la colonne d’eau, tandis que l’eau de fonte favorise l’établissement d’une microcouche estivale. En milieu côtier, les cours d’eau et le littoral apportent plusieurs substances (nutriments, particules, matière dissoute) qui affectent la productivité biologique et la biodiversité marines ainsi que l’accumulation et la dynamique des sédiments qui meublent le fond. En échangeant des gaz et des nutriments avec l’eau de mer, ces sédiments agissent sur la composition chimique de l’eau et de l’atmosphère.


Afin de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des interfaces et leurs impacts écologiques, l’équipe étudie la composition chimique et biologique de la basse atmosphère, des microcouches marines, des canaux de saumure et des sédiments marins.
  © Virginie Galindo

3.5. Technologies d’avant-garde pour l’observation du milieu marin
La majeure partie de l’océan échappe à notre regard. Bien qu’une grande part de la recherche océanographique doive se faire à partir de navires ou de la côte, la mise en place de nouveaux moyens permettant d’accroitre l’étendue des observations ou d’en améliorer la résolution spatiale et temporelle s’impose. Ces moyens incluent la télédétection (satellites, acoustique, radars hautes-fréquences) et le déploiement d’engins autonomes munis de capteurs qui renseignent sur la structure physique, chimique et biologique de l’océan.


L’équipe met au point de nouveaux algorithmes afin de mieux exploiter les données de télédétection et acquiert puis adapte des bouées profileuses, des planeurs et des véhicules autonomes sous-marins et aériens afin de multiplier les capacités d’observation et de veille écologique.
  © Doug Barber

Québec-Océan est un regroupement stratégique financé par le FRQNT.