CHAIRS

Several members of Québec-Océan hold research chairs, including one Canada Excellence Research Chair, six Canada Research Chairs, a Research Chair from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), a Research Chair from the ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs du Québec (MFFP), and a Research Chair from the ministère des Transports (MTQ).

Babin, Marcel (U. Laval)
Since May 2010


Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada’s New Arctic Frontier
Study of the Arctic marine environment using various observing technologies (satellite), computer models and powerful tools to analyze and archive vast amounts of data.
Bernatchez, Louis (U. Laval)
Since September 2001


Canada Research Chair in Genetic Conservation of Aquatic Resources
Study of the genetic diversity of fish to better manage endangered species, in particular:
  • Atlantic salmon, whose numbers have fallen by 50 percent over the last 20 years;
  • brook trout, the most important species for the Quebec aquaculture industry, and which is produced nowhere else in the world;
  • and copper redhorse, the only vertebrate species that occurs only in Quebec, and whose only known spawning site is the Richelieu River..
Chaillou, Gwénaëlle (UQAR)
Since June 2011


Canada Research Chair in the Geochemistry of Coastal Hydrogeosystems
Characterizing and quantifying subterranean geochemical transformations occurring between coastal groundwater bodies and oceans. The Chair will contribute to predict the manner in which global environmental change will influence northern coastal hydrogeosystems and ecosystems depending on them.
Fortier, Louis (U. Laval)
Since March 2004


Canada Research Chair on the Response of Arctic Marine Ecosystems to Climate Change
Studying ecological relationships between animal plankton and pack ice with a view to predicting effects of current global warming on productivity of Arctic ecosystems. Develop strategies for adapting to climate change and thus ensuring sustainable fishing for new resources in the Arctic.
Levasseur, Maurice (U. Laval)
Since October 2013


Canada Research chair in Ocean Biogeochemistry and climate
Improve our knowledge of the mechanisms of oceanic production of two climatically active gases, from biological origin: dimethyl sulfide and nitrous oxide. Research conducted as part of this chair will improve the predictive ability of current climate models, by providing new biogeochemical parameters.
Simard, Yvan (IML et UQAR)
Since 2001


DFO Research Chair in Applied Marine Acoustics for Research into Resources and the Ecosystem
This chair’s research program uses both passive acoustics, in the detection and localization of whales based on their specific vocalizations, and active acoustics, for estimating and three-dimensional mapping of resources in the environment. The chair also includes a research and development component.
St-Onge, Guillaume (UQAR)
Since November 2011


Canada Research Chair in Marine Geology
Studying the seabed and its sediments, using cutting-edge technology, like sediment cores, multibeam sounder and numerical modeling. The Chair will help in understanding natural risks, natural climate variability, and geological history to finally contribute to the adaptation to global change.
Walsh, David (U. Concordia)
Since May 2011


Canada Research Chair in Microbial Ecology and Genomics
New insights into the essential microbial processes and interactions that sustain the health of Canada’s oceans, using genomic tools. This chair will help in predicting the relationships between environmental change and microbial community variability in the ocean.

CHAIRES

Plusieurs membres de Québec-Océan détiennent des chaires de recherche, dont une chaire d'excellence de recherche du Canada, six chaires de recherche du Canada, une chaire du ministère des Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), une chaire de recherche du ministère de la Forêt, de la Faune et des Parcs du Québec (MFFP) et une chaire du ministère des Transports (MTQ).

Babin, Marcel (U. Laval)
Depuis mai 2010


Chaire d’excellence de recherche du Canada en télédétection de la nouvelle frontière arctique du Canada
Étude de l’environnement marin arctique par différentes technologies d’observations spatiales, des modèles numériques et le traitement d’un très grand nombre de données archivées, à l’aide de puissants outils d’archivage et d’analyse.
Bernatchez, Louis (U. Laval)
Depuis septembre 2001


Chaire de recherche du Canada en conservation génétique des ressources aquatiques
Étude de la diversité génétique des poissons pour mieux conserver, entre autres, trois espèces menacées:
  • le saumon de l’Atlantique dont les stocks ont diminué de moitié depuis vingt ans;
  • l’omble de fontaine qui est l’espèce la plus importante pour l’industrie aquicole québécoise et n’est produite nulle part ailleurs dans le monde;
  • le chevalier cuivré qui est l’unique espèce vertébrée qu’on ne retrouve qu’au Québec et dont le seul lieu connu de reproduction est la rivière Richelieu.
Chaillou, Gwénaëlle (UQAR)
Depuis juin 2011


Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la géochimie des hydrogéosystèmes côtiers
Caractérisation et quantification des transformations géochimiques souterraines entre les nappes d’eau souterraine côtières et les océans. La chaire contribuera à prédire la manière dont les changements environnementaux planétaires vont influencer les hydrogéosystèmes côtiers nordiques et les écosystèmes qui en dépendent.
Fortier, Louis (U. Laval)
Depuis mars 2004


Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la réponse des écosystèmes marins arctiques au réchauffement climatique
Étude des relations écologiques entre le plancton animal et la banquise afin de prévoir les impacts du réchauffement climatique actuel sur la productivité des écosystèmes arctiques. La chaire permettra de préparer des stratégies d’adaptation au changement climatique en vue d’assurer l’exploitation durable de nouvelles ressources de pêche dans l’Arctique.
Levasseur, Maurice (U. Laval)
Depuis octobre 2013


Chaire de recherche du Canada en biogéochimie océanique et climat
Améliorer nos connaissances sur les mécanismes responsables de la production océanique de deux gaz climatiquement actifs et d’origine biologique : le diméthylsulfure et l’oxyde nitreux. Les recherches réalisées dans le cadre de cette chaire permettront d’améliorer la capacité prédictive des modèles climatiques actuels, en fournissant des nouveaux paramètres biogéochimiques.
Simard, Yvan (IML et UQAR)
Depuis 2001


Chaire de recherche du MPO en acoustique marine appliquée
Le programme de recherche de cette chaire fait appel à des méthodes d'acoustique passive, telles la détection et localisation des baleines d'après leurs vocalisations spécifiques, et d'acoustique active, telles l'estimation et la cartographie des ressources en trois dimensions dans leur environnement. Il inclue également une part de développement technologique (R&D).
St-Onge, Guillaume (UQAR)
Depuis novembre 2011


Chaire de recherche du Canada en géologie marine
Étude des fonds marins et leurs sédiments à l’aide de techniques de pointe, tel que le carottage sédimentaire, les sondages multifaisceaux et la modélisation numérique. La chaire permettra d’en apprendre davantage sur les catastrophes naturelles, les variations climatiques et l’histoire géologique du Canada dans le but final de s’adapter au changement global.
Walsh, David (U. Concordia)
Depuis mai 2011


Chaire de recherche du Canada en écologie et génomique microbiennes
Mieux comprendre les processus et les interactions microbiens essentiels qui assurent la santé des océans du Canada en utilisant des outils génomiques. La chaire permettra de prévoir la relation entre le changement environnemental et la variabilité de la communauté microbienne océanique.