Research Chairs

Research Chairs

Several members of Québec-Océan hold research chairs, including 3 Canada Research Chairs, one Quebec Chair, and 3 partnership chairs.

Co-researchers Chairs

Quebec Ministry of Public Safety Chair in Coastal Geoscience

Bernatchez, Pascal (UQAR)

Since 2007 

The Chair's work focuses on preventive coastal risk management and solutions adapted to the needs of society and climate change. Coastal hazards will be modeled while the vulnerability and resilience of the coastal zone will be assessed. This will lead to the development of solutions adapted to the different local and regional contexts of Québec maritime, to reduce current and future coastal risks. 

Chair's website

Canada Research Chair in Geochemistry of Coastal Hydrogeosystems

Chaillou, Gwénaëlle (UQAR-ISMER)

Since 2011

The Chair will help predict how global environmental changes will influence northern coastal hydrogeosystems and ecosystems that depend on them. Subsurface geochemical.

Chair's website

Canada Research Chair in the Geodynamics of Ice Sheet - Sea Level Interactions

Gomez, Natalya (U. McGill)

Since 2020

Using state-of-the-art numerical models and geophysical data, the Chair aims to understand the response of the polar ice caps to past and current climate change to better predict sea level. This will help determine the vulnerability of coastal populations and ecosystems and take actions to improve their resilience.

Chair's website

Littoral Research Chair

Lemire, Mélanie (U. Laval)

Since 2019

The Chair, also known as the North Sentinel Partnership Research Chair in Ecosystem Approaches to Health, carries out interdisciplinary research and intervention projects, in close collaboration with First Nations and coastal populations, to better understand the complex effects of environmental changes on human health. In its preventive approach, the Chair promotes a lifestyle based on a healthy ecosystem, fostering resilience.

Chair's website

UNESCO Chair in Integrated Marine Systems Analysis

Noisette, Fanny (UQAR-ISMER)

Since 2020

The first UNESCO Chair in the marine field in Canada, the UNESCO Chair in Integrated Marine Systems Analysis is based on close North-South collaboration and multidisciplinary research on marine ecosystems.

Chair's website

Research Chair on coastal ecosystems and port, industrial and maritime activities, in partnership with the Port of Sept-Îles and the Northern Institute for Environmental and Occupational Health Research

Saulnier-Talbot, Émilie (U. Laval)

Since 2020

The mission of the Chair is to improve fundamental knowledge on the functioning of coastal ecosystems in order to guide the sustainable management of socio-ecological systems in coastal environments subject to port, industrial, and maritime activities. Innovative methods and tools will be used to distinguish natural changes from those due to anthropic stresses.

Chair's website

Canada Research Chair in Marine Geology

St-Onge, Guillaume (UQAR-ISMER)

Since 2017

The work of the Chair will determine the recurrence and impact of major earthquakes in eastern Canada, in addition to providing basic data on the nature and architecture of the seabed and its stability, parameters that are crucial for the installation and operation of marine and coastal infrastructures. This better knowledge will allow governmental and private institutions to adapt their infrastructures and policies according to this reality. The Chair's work will also promote a better understanding of the processes related to the rapid melting of the poles, which could play a crucial role in the coming centuries in the Arctic and Antarctic.

Chair's website

Canada Research Chair in Microbial Ecology and Genomics

Walsh, David (U. Concordia)

Since 2011

The Chair studies the variability of the oceanic microbial community from a genetic perspective and in relation to environmental stresses. The goal of the Chair's work is to develop genetic tools to monitor disturbances to marine ecosystems and ultimately improve the health of the oceans.

Chair's Website

Collaborators Chairs

Canada Research Chair in Genetic Conservation of Aquatic Resources

Bernatchez, Louis (U. Laval)

Since  2001

The program of this Chair aims at improving the conservation of three threatened species: 

  • Atlantic salmon, whose stocks have been reduced by half over the last twenty years;
  • brook trout, which is the most important species for the Quebec aquaculture industry and is not produced anywhere else in the world;
  • the Chevalier cuivré is the only vertebrate species exclusively found in Quebec and whose only known breeding ground is the Richelieu River.

Chair website

Canada Research Chair in Fisheries Ecology

Robert, Dominique (UQAR-ISMER)

Since 2017

The Canada Research Chair in Fisheries Ecology aims to enhance the economic and sustainable value of marine fisheries by studying the ecology of species. State-of-the-art technologies, such as electronic tagging of fish and otolith analysis, will be used to assess abundance, spatial distribution and individual variability. 

Chair's website

Fisheries and Oceans Research Chair in Applied Marine Acoustics

Simard, Yvan (Institut Maurice-Lamontagne et UQAR-ISMER)

Since 2001

The research program of this chair uses passive acoustics methods, such as the detection and location of whales based on their specific vocalizations, and active acoustics for the estimation and mapping of fish and krill in three dimensions in their environment. It also includes a technology development component.

Chair's website

Canada Research Chair in Aquatic Ecosystem Studies

Vincent, Warwick (U. Laval)

Since 2001

This Chair studies the diversity of aquatic life at the base of food webs in high latitude lakes, rivers, and coastal oceans. Through laboratory and fieldwork, the ecology, diversity, and physiology of cyanobacteria and microalgae are examined in relation to the impact of climate change.

Chair's website

Chaires de recherche

Chaires de recherche

Sept cochercheurs de Québec-Océan détiennent des chaires de recherche, dont 4 chaires de recherche du Canada, une chaire du Québec, et 2 chaires en partenariat. De plus, quatre collaborateurs occupent des chaires de recherche du Canada et une chaire de Pêches et Océans.

Chaires des cochercheurs

Chaire du ministère de la sécurité publique du Québec en géoscience côtière

Bernatchez, Pascal (UQAR)

Depuis 2007 

Les travaux de la Chaire portent sur la gestion préventive des risques côtiers et les solutions adaptées aux besoins de la société et aux changements climatiques. Les aléas côtiers seront modélisés tandis que la vulnérabilité et la résilience de la zone côtière seront évaluées. Ceci conduira au développement de solutions adaptées aux différents contextes locaux et régionaux du Québec maritime, pour réduire les risques côtiers actuels et futurs. 

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la géochimie des hydrogéosystèmes côtiers

Chaillou, Gwénaëlle (UQAR-ISMER)

Depuis 2011

La Chaire contribuera à prédire la manière dont les changements environnementaux planétaires vont influencer les hydrogéosystèmes côtiers nordiques et les écosystèmes qui en dépendent. Les transformations géochimiques souterraines ayant lieu entre les nappes d’eau souterraines côtières et les océans seront caractérisées et quantifiées.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la géodynamique des interactions entre la couverture de glace et le niveau de la mer

Gomez, Natalya (U. McGill)

Depuis 2020

En utilisant des modèles numériques de pointe et des données géophysiques, la Chaire vise à comprendre la réponse des calottes polaires aux changements climatiques passés et actuels pour mieux prédire le niveau de la mer. Cela aidera à déterminer la vulnérabilité des populations et des écosystèmes côtiers et à prendre actions pour améliorer leur résilience.

Site Web de la Chaire

Chaire Littoral

Lemire, Mélanie (U. Laval)

Depuis 2019

La Chaire Littoral aussi nommée Chaire de recherche en partenariat Sentinelle Nord en approches écosystémiques de la santé, réalise des projets de recherche et d’intervention interdisciplinaires, en étroite collaboration avec les peuples autochtones et les populations côtières, afin mieux comprendre les effets complexes des changements environnementaux sur la santé humaine. Dans son approche préventive, la chaire fait la promotion d’un mode vie basé sur un écosystème sain, favorisant la résilience.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche sur les écosystèmes côtiers et les activités portuaires, industrielles et maritimes, en partenariat avec le Port de Sept-Ïles et l’Institut nordique de recherche en environnement et santé au travail

Saulnier-Talbot, Émilie (U. Laval)

Since 2020

La Chaire a pour mission d’améliorer les connaissances fondamentales sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes côtiers, afin de guider la gestion durable des systèmes socio-écologiques en milieux côtiers soumis à des activités portuaires, industrielles et maritimes. Des méthodes et outils novateurs seront utilisés pour distinguer les changements naturels de ceux dûs aux stress d’origine antrophique.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche du Canada en géologie marine

St-Onge, Guillaume (UQAR-ISMER)

Depuis 2017

Les travaux de la Chaire permettront de déterminer la récurrence et l’impact de séismes majeurs dans l’est du Canada, en plus de fournir des données de base sur la nature et l’architecture du fond marin et la stabilité de ce dernier, paramètres déterminants pour l’installation et l’opération d’infrastructures marines et côtières. Cette meilleure connaissance permettra aux institutions gouvernementales et privées d’adapter leurs infrastructures et politiques en fonction de cette réalité. Les travaux de la Chaire favoriseront aussi une meilleure compréhension des processus liés à la fonte rapide des pôles, ce qui pourrait jouer un rôle crucial au cours des prochains siècles dans l’Arctique et en Antarctique.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche du Canada en écologie et génomique microbiennes

Walsh, David (U. Concordia)

Depuis 2011

La Chaire étudie la variabilité de la communauté microbienne océanique du point de vue génétique et en relation avec les stress environnementaux. Les travaux de la Chaire ont donc pour but de mettre au point des outils génétiques pour surveiller les perturbations exercées sur les écosystèmes marins et en définitive améliorer la santé des océans.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaires des collaborateurs

Chaire de recherche du Canada en conservation génétique des ressources aquatiques

Bernatchez, Louis (U. Laval)

Depuis  2001

Le programme de cette chaire vise l’amélioration de de la conservation de trois espèces menacées : 

  • le saumon de l’Atlantique dont les stocks ont diminué de moitié depuis vingt ans;
  • l’omble de fontaine qui est l’espèce la plus importante pour l’industrie aquicole québécoise et n’est produite nulle part ailleurs dans le monde;
  • le chevalier cuivré qui est l’unique espèce vertébrée qu’on ne retrouve qu’au Québec et dont le seul lieu connu de reproduction est la rivière Richelieu.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche du Canada en écologie halieutique

Robert, Dominique (UQAR-ISMER)

Depuis 2017

La Chaire de recherche du Canada en écologie halieutique vise à valoriser économiquement et durablement les pêcheries maritimes par l’étude de l’écologie des espèces. Des technologies de pointe, telles le marquage électronique des poissons et l’analyse des otolithes, seront employées pour évaluer l’abondance, la répartition spatiale et la variabilité individuelle. 

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche de Pêches et Océans en acoustique marine appliquée

Simard, Yvan (Institut Maurice-Lamontagne et UQAR-ISMER)

Depuis 2001

Le programme de recherche de cette Chaire fait appel à des méthodes d'acoustique passive, telles la détection et localisation des baleines d'après leurs vocalisations spécifiques, et d'acoustique active, ainsi que d’acoustique active pour l’estimation et la cartographie des poissons et du krill en trois dimensions dans leur environnement. Il inclut également une part de développement technologique.

Site web de la Chaire

Chaire de recherche du Canada en études des écosystèmes aquatiques

Vincent, Warwick (U. Laval)

Depuis 2001

Cette chaire étudie la diversité de la vie aquatique à la base des réseaux alimentaires dans les lacs, les rivières et les océans côtiers de haute latitude. Par des travaux en laboratoire et sur le terrain, l’écologie, la diversité et la physiologie des cyanobactéries et des microalgues sont scrutées, sous l’angle de l’impact du changement climatique.

Site web de la Chaire