Axis 1

Axis 1

BLUE PLANET: TOWARD THE SUSTAINABLE USE OF MARINE ECOSYSTEMS

Leader: Michel Gosselin

Climate change and the different activities we carry out on the water and along the coastline put multiple pressures on the marine environment, modifying its habitats, biodiversity and the services it provides to humanity. It is with a view to help society achieve sustainable and safe use of coastal marine environments that Québec-Ocean works on five themes that address the needs and concerns of diverse provincial and federal departments, municipalities, ports, management and conservation organizations as well as the general population. Note that ocean warming is not the subject of a specific theme here since it is a cross-cutting issue

Theme 1.1. Melting sea ice and glaciers

Leaders: Jean-Éric Tremblay & Carolina Dufour

 

In polar and subpolar regions, the loss of sea ice opens new navigation routes and facilitates access to living and mineral resources. It also changes the lives of Inuit in the Arctic, threatens the survival of marine organisms that depend on ice for breeding and hunting, and allows temperate species to expand their geographical range and alter marine food webs. Meanwhile, the melting of glaciers raises sea level and combines with the loss of sea ice to form a layer of low salinity water that caps the ocean surface. The resulting vertical stratification of the water column could weaken the dense-water formation that normally drives global ocean circulation, tempers the climate and oxygenates the deep ocean. It may also reduce the vertical mixing necessary to bring back to the surface the essential nutrients on which all life depends. 

The team takes measurements at sea, experiments in the laboratory, uses remote sensing and coupled numerical models to quantify, understand and better anticipate the positive or negative effects of melting on biological productivity, biodiversity, the flow of mater and energy in the ecosystem and the role of cold oceans in global biogeochemical cycles.

Theme 1.2 – Natural hazards and coastal erosion

Leader: Urs Neumeier

 

Several natural events, including erosion and earthquakes or submarine landslides, threaten the shoreline, coastal marine ecosystems and infrastructures built on the seafloor or the coast. Multiple factors come into play. Erosion, for example, is affected by wave action and sediment dynamics as well as rising water levels, declining sea ice and changing freeze-thaw cycles. For the St. Lawrence River, a combination of rising sea level and decreasing river flow in the future might induce an advance of the salt front toward municipalities that draw their drinking water from the river. 

The team is analyzing these various phenomena to better manage the risks, anticipate potential impacts and propose mitigation or adaptation measures. Wave and sediment dynamics are studied in coastal marshes and adjacent intertidal zones in order to better understand the mechanisms that modify shorelines and coastal morphology.

Theme 1.3 – Multiple stressors and the integrity of marine ecosystems

Leaders: Philippe Archambault & Émilie Saulnier-Talbot

Considering the diversity of pressures already exerted by human activity on the marine environment (e.g., urban, agricultural and industrial discharges, port activities, navigation, tourism, global change) and the future growth envisioned by the Strategy Maritime du Québec, decision-makers must have access to scientific support in order to properly align practices with the need to preserve marine species and ecosystem services. The development of monitoring and management approaches anchored in current scientific data assessing the quality of the marine environment is essential to understand and mitigate the impacts resulting from underwater noise, anthropogenic  inputs of nutrients (eutrophication) and micro-plastics, acidification, hypoxia and the pollution of water, organisms and sediment by various contaminants. 

The team studies underwater noise, point and diffuse inputs of nutrients, contaminants and organic matter as well as the acidity and oxygen content of water in order to assess and model their impacts on organisms, biodiversity, ecosystem functioning and productivity, and the incidence of toxic or harmful algal blooms. It assists stakeholders from different sectors of activity in the implementation of marine observatories and scientific monitoring aiming to better protect marine environments.

Theme 1.4 – Operational oceanography: security and management

Leader: Dany Dumont

Maritime safety and the management of multiple socio-economic activities, environmental crises and natural risks related to the marine environment are based on the ability to describe in real time, and then predict, the state of the ocean. This includes water properties, the speed and direction of ocean currents, wave heights and sea-ice motion. This capability is used, for example, to anticipate the dispersion of chemical pollutants or the toxins produced by harmful algae, prevent and contain oil contamination, make navigation profitable and safe, optimize rescue and recovery operations at sea, and handle ice near oil rigs or coastal installations.

The team uses innovative techniques for measuring and monitoring the state of the ocean (satellites, high-frequency radars, buoys) and coupled numerical models ocean-wave-ice-ice-atmosphere to improve the accuracy and speed of operational forecasts.

Theme 1.5 – Human health and the ocean

Leader: Mélanie Lemire

Numerous coastal communities enjoy a close relationship with the sea. The Inuit of Nunavik in particular rely heavily on living resources from the ocean (e.g. shellfish, marine mammals, fish) for food, clothing, culture and spirituality. Access to abundant and healthy marine foods remains an essential component of food security in Northern Quebec. The nutritional quality of these foods can also have an impact on the physical and mental health of populations, since they contain both beneficial molecules (e.g., polyunsaturated fatty acids, antioxidants, selenium) and contaminants (e.g., mercury). The accessibility, abundance and nutritional quality of local marine animals are now compromised by climate change and its impacts on the productivity and functioning of pelagic and benthic food webs. 

The transectoral team is working to elucidate the underlying oceanographic processes and their possible effects on the well-being of northern communities, both at present (observations) and in the future (modelling).  It aims to better identify the different facets of the relationship that communities have with the marine ecosystem, both in the St. Lawrence and in Nunavik, and to support communities in their search for adaptation measures in the face of climate change and increased climate variability

Go to Axis 2

Axe 1

Axe 1

PLANÈTE BLEUE : VERS UNE UTILISATION DURABLE DES ÉCOSYSTÈMES MARINS

Responsable : Michel Gosselin

Le changement climatique et les différentes activités que nous pratiquons sur l’eau et le long du littoral exercent des pressions multiples sur le milieu marin, modifiant ses habitats, sa biodiversité, et les services que cet écosystème rend à l’Humanité. C’est dans une optique d’utilisation durable et sécuritaire des milieux marins côtiers que les équipes de Québec-Océan travaillent sur 5 thématiques qui répondent aux besoins et préoccupations des différents ministères provinciaux et fédéraux, des municipalités, des ports, des organismes de gestion et de conservation, ainsi que de la population québécoise. Le réchauffement des eaux est considéré comme un enjeu transversal et ne fait pas l’objet d’un thème spécifique.

Thème 1.1 – Fonte des glaces

Responsables : Jean-Éric Tremblay et Carolina Dufour

 

En zones polaires et subpolaires, la réduction de la banquise ouvre de nouvelles voies de navigation et facilite l’accès aux ressources naturelles vivantes et minérales. Elle change aussi la vie des Inuits en Arctique, menace la survie des organismes marins qui dépendent de la glace pour s’abriter, se reproduire ou chasser, puis permet aux espèces des mers tempérées d’étendre leur aire de distribution et de modifier les réseaux alimentaires. La fonte des glaciers augmente le niveau de la mer et se conjugue à la fonte de la banquise pour former une couche d’eau peu salée qui reste en surface. Cette stratification verticale de la colonne d’eau pourrait affaiblir la formation des eaux denses qui s’écoulent vers le fond et propulsent la circulation océanique globale, tempèrent le climat et oxygènent l’océan en profondeur. La stratification accrue pourrait aussi freiner le mélange vertical qui ramène en surface les nutriments essentiels à toute vie.

L’équipe fait des mesures en mer, expérimente en laboratoire, utilise la télédétection et des modèles numériques couplés afin de quantifier, comprendre et mieux anticiper les effets positifs ou négatifs de la fonte sur la productivité biologique, la biodiversité, les flux d’énergie et de matière dans les écosystèmes et leurs impacts sur les grands cycles biogéochimiques.

Thème 1.2 – Risques naturels et érosion côtière

Responsable : Urs Neumeier

 

Plusieurs évènements naturels, dont l’érosion et les tremblements de terre ou glissements sous-marins, menacent les communautés riveraines, les écosystèmes marins côtiers et les ouvrages posés au fond ou sur la berge. De multiples facteurs entrent en jeu. L’érosion, par exemple, est affectée par les vagues et la dynamique sédimentaire, mais aussi par la hausse du niveau de l’eau, le déclin de la glace de mer et les cycles gel-dégel. Pour le Saint-Laurent, la hausse du niveau de la mer combinée à une baisse du débit fluvial risque fort d’induire une avancée du front salin vers des municipalités qui puisent leur eau douce au fleuve. 

L’équipe analyse ces différents phénomènes pour mieux gérer les risques, anticiper les impacts potentiels et proposer des mesures d'atténuation ou d’adaptation. La dynamique des vagues et du sédiment est étudiée dans les marais littoraux et les zones intertidales adjacentes afin de mieux comprendre les mécanismes qui modifient les berges et la morphologie littorale.

Thème 1.3 – Intégrité des écosystèmes marins face aux stresseurs multiples

Responsables : Philippe Archambault et Émilie Saulnier-Talbot

Considérant la diversité des pressions qu’exercent déjà l’activité humaine sur le milieu marin (par ex., rejets urbains, agricoles et industriels, activités portuaires, navigation, tourisme, changement global) et les objectifs de croissance formulés dans la Stratégie maritime du Québec, les décideurs doivent avoir accès à un soutien scientifique pour bien adapter les façons de faire à la nécessité de préserver les espèces et les services écosystémiques marins. Une approche de suivi et de gestion de la qualité du milieu marin basée sur des données scientifiques actuelles est essentielle afin de comprendre et atténuer les impacts qui résultent, par exemple, du bruit sous-marin, des apports anthropiques de nutriments (eutrophisation) et de micro-plastiques, de l’acidification, de l’hypoxie et de la pollution de l’eau, des organismes et du sédiment par différents contaminants. 

L’équipe étudie le bruit sous-marin, les apports ponctuels et diffus de nutriments, de contaminants et de matière organique ainsi que l’acidité et la teneur en oxygène de l’eau afin d’en évaluer et modéliser les impacts sur les organismes, la biodiversité, le fonctionnement et la productivité de l’écosystème et l’incidence de floraisons d’algues toxiques ou nuisibles. Elle accompagne les intervenants de différents secteurs d’activité dans la mise en place d’observatoires marins et de suivis scientifiques visant à mieux protéger les milieux marins.

Thème 1.4 – Océanographie opérationnelle : sécurité et gestion

Responsable : Dany Dumont

La sécurité maritime et la gestion des multiples activités socioéconomiques, des crises environnementales et des risques naturels liés au milieu marin reposent sur l’aptitude à décrire en temps réel, puis à prévoir, l’état de l’océan. Cet état inclut notamment les propriétés de l’eau, la vitesse et la direction des courants marins, la hauteur des vagues et les mouvements de la glace de mer. Cette capacité sert, par exemple, à anticiper la dispersion des polluants chimiques et des toxines produites par les floraisons d’algues toxiques, prévenir et contenir la contamination en hydrocarbures, rentabiliser et sécuriser la navigation, optimiser les opérations de sauvetage et de récupération en mer et gérer les glaces à proximité des installations pétrolières ou côtières. 

L’équipe utilise des techniques innovantes de mesure et de monitorage de l’état de l’océan (satellites, radars haute-fréquence, bouées) et des modèles numériques couplés océan-vagues-glace-atmosphère afin d’améliorer la justesse et la rapidité des prévisions opérationnelles.

Thème 1.5 – Santé humaine et océan

Responsable : Mélanie Lemire

De nombreuses communautés riveraines entretiennent un rapport étroit avec la mer. Les Inuits du Nunavik en particulier dépendent fortement des ressources vivantes issues de l’océan (p. ex., mollusques, mammifères marins, poissons) pour l’alimentation, l’habillement, la culture et la spiritualité. L’accès à des aliments marins abondants et sains demeure une composante essentielle de la sécurité alimentaire dans le Nord du Québec. La qualité nutritive de ces aliments peut de surcroît agir sur la santé physique et mentale des populations, puisque qu’ils contiennent à la fois des molécules bénéfiques (par ex : acides gras polyinsaturés, antioxydants, sélénium) et des contaminants (p. ex., mercure). L’accessibilité, l’abondance et la qualité nutritive des animaux marins locaux sont compromises par le changement climatique et ses impacts sur la productivité et le fonctionnement des réseaux alimentaires pélagiques et benthiques. 

L’équipe transectorielle travaille à élucider les mécanismes sous-jacents et à en évaluer les effets possibles sur le bien-être des communautés du Nord, au présent (observations) et dans le futur (modélisation).  Elle vise à mieux cerner les différentes facettes du rapport que les communautés entretiennent avec l’écosystème marin, à la fois dans le Saint-Laurent et au Nunavik, et à appuyer ces dernières dans la recherche de mesures d’adaptation face au changement et à la variabilité accrue du climat.