The organization and management of the research group are the results of the group's long experience, whose collaborations date back to 1970, and its continuous adaptation to the new conditions of Quebec research. 

The general assembly is composed of all members present. It takes place once a year and ratifies the statutes of the cluster proposed by the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors (BoD) represents the co-researchers, collaborators, students, and postdoctoral fellows. The BoD meets at least twice a year to guide the activities of the consortium and make the necessary budgetary decisions. Activities and resolutions are registered in the minutes.

Several committees are responsible for advising the Board of Directors. The Advisory Committee (AC) brings together representatives of the major university partners (vice-presidents) and research users to provide strategic direction to the cluster. For scientific orientations, the Research Dissemination and Consultation Committee (RDCC) brings together the heads of the scientific program axes, in addition to ex-officio members. The EDI committee is composed of 5 members representing the diversity of the membership and is mandated to guide the actions of Quebec-Ocean to provide equitable and inclusive services in a discrimination-free environment. The Shared Services ("CSP") Committee, which includes 4 members, is responsible for overseeing services in field equipment logistics and data quality/archiving. Finally, the two professors and the postdoctoral fellow of the Short Course ("CF") Committee evaluate the financial aid requests of students and postdoctoral fellows.

In addition, the Student Committee (SC) represents the student members and participates in the Board of Directors and the RDCC. The SC contributes to the scientific activities, training activities, communication, and outreach of the group.